Click on the sidebar and select
You will see a list of all defined project roles, like the below screenshot:
If you have the privileges, once you click on any role you will see a clone button
To alter rights you clone an existing role (choose the one most similar) and update the privileges as needed into a new role. This preserves the integrity of the other project roles.
We have created the Super Business Analyst role as an example by cloning the existing Business Analyst role. Open the new role to see the default configuration.
For your ease, we can assign rights:
- at a domain level (the coloured boxes), or
- in the subdomains that are visible when we click to expand each domain.
Assign Rights at the Domain Level
Note the left column is titled Edit and the right column is titled View. If you want to grant all rights to the role for that domain, click . To revoke all rights for that domain, click . Repeat this for any other domains for which domain-level assignment is desirable.
Assign Rights at the Subdomain Level
We customize subdomain rights by expanding any of domains (the coloured boxes) by clicking to reveal the subdomain details.
For this example we want to expand privileges in Communications so our Super Business Analyst can create communications deliverables. Note that the edit and view columns show the sensitivity level of those fields (they do not show the clearances of the role).
Note the colouring at the subdomain level, which corresponds to the sensitivity of the subdomain. Red means high sensitivity, so use caution when allocating view and edit rights for red items. Orange is medium and green is low. These colours don't mean that the subdomain doesn't contain higher sensitivity items, it just refers to the overall sensitivity.
The dropdown box establishes the privileges in that subdomain.
Choose the rights that the role should have. The meanings are as follows:
- All fields - Irrespective of sensitivity of the field, this selection gives the role edit or view rights
- High - Fields with sensitivity high or lower will be viewed and/or edited in this role
- Medium - Fields with sensitivity medium or lower will be viewed and/or edited in this role
- Low - Fields with sensitivity low will be viewed and/or edited in this role
- None - Fields with sensitivity low will be viewed and/or edited in this role
As you change the rights you may notice that the field labels change from black to grey. Black means that the user has access to this field, and grey means they do not.
You can specify whether the role can create and/or approve deliverables within this subdomain by clicking the appropriate checkboxes.
Finally, you can permit your role to view and/or edit the Action Items of others simply by clicking the appropriate checkbox(es).
Return as often as you wish to update this role.